Book Review: Small Favors by Erin A. Craig

Thank you to Netgalley & Delacorte Press for an e-ARC of Small Favors in exchange for an honest review!

55858413. sy475

Synopsis: Ellerie Downing lives in the quiet town of Amity Falls in the Blackspire Mountain range–five narrow peaks stretching into the sky like a grasping hand, bordered by a nearly impenetrable forest from which the early townsfolk fought off the devils in the woods. To this day, visitors are few and rare. But when a supply party goes missing, some worry that the monsters that once stalked the region have returned.

As fall turns to winter, more strange activities plague the town. They point to a tribe of devilish and mystical creatures who promise to fulfill the residents’ deepest desires, however grand and impossible, for just a small favor. But their true intentions are much more sinister, and Ellerie finds herself in a race against time before all of Amity Falls, her family, and the boy she loves go up in flames. 

Add Small Favors to Goodreads!


This is the second time that Erin A. Craig has completely 100% wow‘ed me; first it was House of Salt & Sorrows & now, she comes in with Small Favors. Holy heck. Am I obsessed? I’m a bit obsessed. Small Favors was released less than a month ago, and I’m already at the edge of my seat waiting for Erin to put out more books so that I can devour them all!

To be completely transparent — it took me a month to read Small Favors. I started reading the e-ARC a couple weeks before it’s release date & didn’t finish reading it until long after I had my pre-ordered final copy in my hands. Small Favors was definitely slow-paced for me, which is usually a big no-no when it comes to my attention span, but bro, this is it.

If I had it my way, my life would be narrated in Erin’s beautiful prose. A fellow Michigander with this much skill in their fingertips? I am so proud. Even with the book being slow-paced, her way with words made me want to remain in this universe (but only reading it, because being in this universe IRL would be terrifying) forever.

As with House of Salt & Sorrows, Small Favors contains a lot of creepy. Side note: I don’t believe her debut novel was classified as horror, however spooky friends — don’t let that fool you! I strongly recommend picking up House of Salt & Sorrows, because Erin sure knows how to crawl under your skin and give you the creepies.

If you like Folk Horror, Small Favors is for you. If you like fairytale retellings, Small Favors is for you. If you like Stephen King’s Needful Things, Small Favors is for you. If you like mysterious small towns, Small Favors is for you.

I am well-aware that this book is just me obsessing over Small Favors & Erin A. Craig’s writing, but I have nothing bad to say about this book. As Nike says, just read it.

For More Bookish Content:

Twitter | Bookstagram | BookTok | Goodreads

Want to support me & my content?

This is never necessary, but know that I truly appreciate you ♥

Ko-Fi | Wishlist

@astoldbybex

Hitting you with some bookreviews! I’ve been a reading machine lately. #booktok #booktiktok #booktoker #horrorbooktok #horrorbooks #yabooktok

♬ Desire – Slowed – Hucci

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Small Favors by Erin A. Craig

Leave a comment